Kanchi: Underwater Photographs

When I visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium, I noticed a photography exhibit that was quite exquisite. The photographs are displayed outside the “Drifters Gallery” of jellyfish. The photo series is named Kanchi: Underwater Photographs. The artists are Ryuijie and his assistant Camille. According to the “About Kanchi” section of the website, the name kanchi is from the Japanese 閑地. I looked up the hiragana and it is かん and ち (kan chi). The meaning is “quiet place.” Both artists are photographers and divers. These photos are really stunning. The photographs are black and white and look like charcoal paintings. Upon first look, I thought the prints were painted by hand. It was not until I read the explanation that I found it was underwater photography. I bought a few cards from the Monterey Bay Aquarium gift shop because I was mesmerized by these photos. There are many more photographs in the series on the website than I remember were displayed at the aquarium. Definitely take a look at these remarkable pictures!

One thought on “Kanchi: Underwater Photographs

  1. Pingback: Monterey Bay Aquarium, Monterey, California | Thinking About Languages

你的思想 | Your thoughts...

