Aloe juice

Aloe juice is pretty common in Asian grocery stores. I tried it a couple of times, but never bought it myself. I was surprised that Costco sold some small bottles of aloe juice. I found larger bottles at a local Asian grocery.

The particular one I bought was from Korea. The taste of the juice reminds me of lychee jelly. I think it is because of the sweetness. I have heard that aloe juice aids in digestion, but I don’t know if it is supported by medical research. Of all the aloe juice I’ve seen, all the containers are green. I’m not sure if this is because the aloe juice needs to be in a tinted container or if it is to reflect the color of the aloe plant.

Aloe juice seems to have a greenish tinge as well. I think this comes from the pulp. All of the aloe juice that I’ve seen contains pulp. I have not seen any without pulp. The aloe pulp looks like bits of aloe with a green center.

Due to the pulp, I thought I had to shake the aloe juice (like shaking orange juice so the pulp mixes). But I found that this causes the juice to foam a bit on the top. The juice does not need to be shaken because the pulp will flow with the juice. There will not be a layer of pulp on the bottom of the bottle.

Aloe juice is a refreshing drink. I think the juice is best served chilled. It will make a great drink on warmer days.

2 thoughts on “Aloe juice

  1. Personally, I find the Costco aloe juice pretty revolting – too sweet for my liking (but then again, I don’t have much of a sweet tooth). Thing is, most bottled aloe juice are oversweetened with artificial sweeteners, so it’s kind of defeats the purpose of having this healthy drink, which is it.

你的思想 | Your thoughts...

