Word of the week #42: 蓮霧

For the longest time, I only knew the name of this fruit as 蓮霧 (lian wu). Actually I probably know this better as the Taiwanese pronunciation of lian bu. I remember eating this fruit in Taiwan. It’s one of my favorite fruits. Although the English name is wax apple, it tastes nothing like an apple. I don’t think I can compare it to another fruit. It’s crunchy, but it has a soft stringy texture. It is also really sweet.


Credit: Free images from acobox.com

2 thoughts on “Word of the week #42: 蓮霧

  1. I love wax apples! Something about the crunchy, slightly sweet fruit is just delicious. I don’t think it is quite wax apple season here in Taipei (yet!), but I’m sure it won’t be too long. At the moment I am enjoying the juicy southern-Taiwanese mangos, bright green guavas, bright papayas and monster watermelons.

你的思想 | Your thoughts...

